## Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Council held at the Town Hall Chapel Road Worthing

#### 18 May 2018

#### 12 noon

The Mayor, Councillor Alex Harman The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Paul Baker

Councillor Noel Atkins	Councillor Nigel Morgan
Councillor Antony Baker	Councillor Richard Mulholland
*Councillor Roy Barraclough	Councillor Louise Murphy
Councillor Mike Barrett	*Councillor Clive Roberts
Councillor Keith Bickers	Councillor Jane Sim
Councillor Beccy Cooper	Councillor Bob Smytherman
Councillor Edward Crouch	Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes
Councillor Jim Deen	Councillor Hazel Thorpe
Councillor Karen Harman	Councillor Bryan Turner
Councillor Lionel Harman	Councillor Val Turner
Councillor Joshua High	Councillor Nicola Waight
Councillor Paul High	Councillor Steve Waight
Councillor Margaret Howard	Councillor Paul Westover
Councillor Daniel Humphreys *Councillor Charles James	Councillor Steve Wills *Councillor Mark Withers
Councillor Kevin Jenkins	Councillor Tom Wye
Councillor Sean McDonald Councillor Heather Mercer	Councillor Paul Yallop
	*=ahsent

\*=absent

(The Mayor, Councillor Alex Harman in the Chair)

Councillor Morgan arrived at 12.07 during the Outgoing Chairman's speech.

#### C/001/18-19 Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Roy Barraclough, Charles James and Mark Withers.

#### C/002/18-19 Election of the Mayor

Proposed by Councillor Dan Humphreys, seconded by Councillor Val Turner that Councillor Paul Baker be elected to serve as Mayor for the coming year.

**Resolved** that Councillor Paul Baker be elected Mayor of the Borough of Worthing for the 2018-19 Municipal Year.

There was an adjournment from 12.16 to 12.30 whilst the newly elected Mayor received the Insignia and Robes.

Councillor Paul Baker returned to the Chamber and made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

(The Mayor, Councillor Paul Baker, in the Chair)

## C/003/18-19 Appointment of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor proposed that Councillor Hazel Thorpe be appointed to serve as Deputy Mayor in 2018/19, this was seconded by Councillor Bob Smytherman.

**Resolved** that Councillor Hazel Thorpe be appointed Deputy Mayor for the 2018-19 Municipal Year.

Councillor Hazel Thorpe made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

## C/004/18-19 Returning officer's return of persons elected

Council noted the Returning Officer's return of persons elected in the Borough Elections on 3 May 2018. Copies had been circulated.

### C/005/18-19 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

#### C/006/18-19 Confirmation of Minutes

**Resolved** that the minutes of the meeting held on 24 April 2018 be approved as a correct record and that they be signed by the Mayor.

# C/007/18-19 Vote of thanks to outgoing Mayor and presentation of past Mayor and Mayoress' insignia

Proposed by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Lionel Harman and

**Resolved** that the Council places on record its sincere thanks to Councillor Alex Harman for the fine manner in which he upheld the tradition of the Office of Mayor of the Borough, for his service to the community of Worthing during the year, and for the fair business like way in which he presided over the meetings of the Council during the year; and that the Council also expresses its sincere thanks to Fran Harman for the dedicated and friendly manner in which she carried out the duties of Mayoress.

The Mayor presented the outgoing Mayor with his Past Mayor insignia and Mrs Fran Harman with the past Mayoress' insignia

## C/008/18-19 Items Raised Under Urgency Provisions

There were no urgent items.

### C/009/18-19 Announcements by the Mayor and/or Head of Paid Service

The Mayor invited those present to his Civic Service on Sunday 20th at St George's Church at 10.30am.

The Service for HMS Hood would take place on Thursday 24th May at 11am at the Town Hall.

Council noted 2 good news items - Worthing Theatres had been shortlisted in the Local Government Chronicle Awards for business Transformation with the Adur and Worthing Councils commended in the Municipal Journal Awards for Digital Transformation.

The Mayor also mentioned 2 people who had been honoured on the BBC One Show NHS 70th Anniversary Lifetime Achievement Awards - Malcolm Robinson, Chief Biomedical Scientist for his charity work with Harvey's Gang, and Eileen Coomber, Staff Nurse at Shepherd House for her work as a Mental Health Nurse on the recovery unit for people with schizophrenia.

## C/10/18-19 Decision making

Before the Council was a report by the Director of Communities, copies of which had been distributed to all Members and a copy of which is attached to the signed copy of these minutes as item 10. The report asked Council to note the political balance on the Council, agree some constitutional matters required to be considered at the Annual Meeting and the appointments to the committees and chairmanships for the coming year. The names nominated for the committee seats were the wishes of the various groups on the Council. An amended Annex B had been circulated and is attached to the minutes.

The Mayor mentioned 3 amendments:

Licensing Committee - Councillor Murphy replaced Councillor Crouch

Governance Committee - Councillor Steve Waight replaced Councillor Withers

Planning Committee - Councillor Cooper to be the named Labour Group substitute member

The recommendations, as amended, were proposed by the Leader, Councillor Humphreys.

Councillor Thorpe seconded the proposal .

Council accepted the amendments and on a vote For 32, Against 0, Absention 1

#### Resolved that

i) Council notes the decision making structure of the Council and the political balance of the Council as paragraphs 3.1 and 3.2 of the report;

ii) Council confirms the Terms of Reference of the Council, Executive, Committees and Sub-Committees as outlined in Part 3 of the Constitution including those relating to Joint Committee Agreements; iii) Council confirms the political groups, the number and proportion of seats as set out in Annex A to this report

iv) Council appoints to the Committees in accordance with the wishes of the Political Groups on the Council detailed in the revised Annex B, as amended in the Chamber, and attached to these minutes;

iv) the Chairman and Vice-Chairman indicated on the revised Annex B be appointed until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019.

v) Council notes the Group Leaders and Deputy Leaders as confirmed to the Proper Officer as listed in Annex B.

vi) Under Council Procedure Rule 39, the Council appoints the Leader of the Labour Group as the Leader of the Main Opposition.

### C/011/18-19 Youth Mayor

Council noted the appointment of the Youth Mayor and Deputy Youth Mayor for 2018-19, Katie Waters and Jimi Taylor.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 1 pm.

Mayor